School comparison ( 0 )

You have 0 schools in your compare List

Compare Schools

Uniform System of Assessment CBSE


The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is a learning system that is highly individual, yet holds international standards. The board’s main objective is to enhance skill development and help students gain new skills by exposing them to quality education. However, many students may have to go back to the old school ways and CBSE syllabus, leaving little to no choice with the parents and students.

CBSE introduced ‘Uniform System of Assessment’ for classes VI to IX after replacing their Continues and Comprehensive Evaluation model for the academic year 2017-18. This change, according to the board, will bring uniformity in teaching and evaluation methods across schools affiliated with it.

According to previous CCE model, student assessment was based on 60% written tests and 40% based on performance across other activities. The latter was awarded by the teachers upon assessing the student throughout the academic year. CCE was relatively less burdensome on students, with two formative tests to analyse performance in each semester and a final summative test to evaluate all-year performance. Students in classes VI to VIII gave exams for respective terms, without the fear of demotion in case one had to skip the test due to health condition.

However, recent CBSE ruling for 2017-18 session will replace CCE model and will only focus on one annual exam per academic year. Each paper will be 100 marks, out of which 80 marks will be designated for written tests and 20 marks for internal assessments. The latest exam format will burden students with studying the complete course syllabus for one final exam, with maximum weightage given to written tests. There is only 10% emphasis on overall subject development activities.

Schools affiliated with CBSE have been following different assessment methods for classes Vi to IX. However, this measure will help students prepare for the restoration of board examinations for class X from 2018 onwards. The board’s main objective is to make the students feel confident about preparing for class X examination and the effort that it requires. Another significant change introduced by board is restoration of class 10th board exams that were made optional five years ago. Additionally, class 9th marks will not be included in class 10 certificates or grade sheet. Rumour has it that the board may also introduce sixth vocational subject which will be added to the mandatory five – two languages, social sciences, science, and mathematics which is being followed currently.

Summary of Major 2017 Announcement made by CBSE

  • Jan 31, Class 10 board exams to be restored
  • March 9, Sixth vocational subject to be added to class 10th syllabus
  • March 15, Class 9th marks will not be included in Class 10th performance certificate and grade sheet
  • March 15, CCE results to be submitted by schools to the board
  • March 21, Uniform assessment, examination system and report card pattern to remain standard for all classes from 6th to 8th.


2 thoughts on “Uniform System of Assessment CBSE”

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *